I Am A Traitor. I Am A RAW Agent. I am A Kafir. I Am A Pakistani With An Awakened Conscience.


Winston Churchill once said,

‘’You have enemies? Good. That means you’ve stood up for something, sometime in your life.’’

A slightly simplified or altered version of this quote goes as ‘A person who has no enemies never stood up for anything or anyone.’

It may be universally true but for Pakistan, I ‘reshape’ the quote to; If you’ve never been called a Kafir, traitor, RAW or MOSSAD Agent, it means you’ve never stood up for anything.

And today I’ll confess what makes me liable to be labelled any of the aforementioned terms on the virtual world.

I am a traitor for I chose to speak.

I am part of the ‘Fifth column of the enemy’ for I ask of the Army’s budget to be accounted for and known to the nation. I am a RAW Agent for it agonizes me to see the oppression being carried out in Balochistan by no one else but this country’s own security appratus and agencies and so I clamour against it.

I am a MOSSAD Agent for I refuse to bear the hypocrisy that compels me to vociferate against brutal killings of innocents in Iraq, of Palestinians and other places and the foreign intereference in my country but  remain in intended oblivion regarding the disgusting exploitation and toying of Afghanistan, by a doctrine of the Military Establishment namely ‘Strategic Depth’ .

I am a Kafir for I protested against the Hudood Law that recognizes rape as some kind of sport in whose occurrence an audience must be present to prove it happened or else the raped will be punished.
I am a traitor for ‘I  question the silence of Pakistan’s urban journalists on mass murders of Baloch, Hazara, Tooris & other oppressed groups.’.
I am a renegade for I challenge questionable customs, traditions, myths and practices that have made this society and many lives rot away for too long.

I am a Kafir for I dare to reclaim my religion from the Mullahs. I am a disbeliever for I admire Abdus Salam and Sir Zafarullah Khan and have the audacity to express my rightful desire for them to be honored by all. I am worthy of being consigned to hell because I do not judge and determine who is a Muslim, to what extent and who isn’t. I am a disbeliever and a damned-to-hell liberal because somewhere in my confabulations there may be secularist undertones.
I am on ‘The Great Satan’s’ payroll for I do ascribe every happening in my country to it yet vociferate against the greatest of dangers and threats this country faces from its very within.

I am a treasonist for I  gladly rip away the locks imposed on my lips by orchestrated  ‘patriotism’ that shuns the voice of  my thoughts from translating into words of concern for what happens in this country of mine.

I am a MOSSAD Agent who doesn’t recite and repeat the venom-filled and delusional words of a hatemonger like Zaid Hamid.
I am a RAW Agent trying to constantly ruin the country’s image for I draw attention to the misery of minorities in Pakistan in hope of the people realizing the importance of the well-being and freedoms of those to whom the white of our flag is dedicated.

I am a traitor for I chose to speak up. I am a traitor for I am a Pakistani with an awakened conscience.

‘Lack of success does not justify the crime of silence in the face of criminal, arbitrary power.’ ~ Eqbal Ahmad

~ Hafsa Khawaja

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://hafsakhawaja.wordpress.com/2011/08/06/i-am-a-traitor-i-am-a-raw-agent-i-am-a-kafir-i-am-a-pakistani-with-an-awakened-conscience/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

27 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. The fact that you have spoken up and not oblivious to what has been going around is a measure of resentment in the society. Once these voices get alligned, together we can make a differenc and bring about the inevitable change.

    • Your last line infused me with a great deal of optimism and hope.
      Thank you for that and for reading my post + commenting!

  2. Kindly do mention that Winston Churchill himself was no better than a Zaid Hamid with Victorian etiquette and better education.

    Rest is something I wouldn’t mind publishing under my name – bravo!

    • You stated it quite eloquently yourself.

      And thank you very much!

  3. Excellent article. Truthful, independent and outspoken people have to face all these jibes.

    • You’re spot on with what you wrote about outspoken people facing such jibes.
      Thank you very much!

  4. Whatever you have written and have written well by the way are exactly the sentements of the faction of our society which is literate and upto the challenge of speaking out against atrocities which have been committed almost everyday for the past 11 years in our homeland. The focal turning point in this century according to me is the war on terror imposed on the world where President bush ,after the september 11 attacks, along with his army came rushing into the subcontinent and later on into the middle east like a bull raging across a china shop. I agree with almost everything else you have spoken against except the accountability of the army and it’s budget. Now don’t get me wrong here. The army is and should be under the executive command and if it is so, then accountability should follow. I have used the word ‘should’ alot in the previous sentence obvioulsy due to the fact that the real time scenario in pakistan has not been so. It has been like that since the first military government in pakistan. Now, coming to the current situation. I say ‘YES’ to accountability for the army but not when the country is in a state of war. We have to look at things through the goggles of war, there was no accountability of the army in the war of 1965 or 1971. The reason was that it was a war situation like it is now. When the army is in direct confrontation with enemies of the state on two different fronts. Now is not the time for accountability, now is the time to support the army to carry out the operations for our security. When inshALLAH it is peace time then court marshal every army personnel involved in corruption and those personnel are mostly the higher up’s in the army not the army sepoy who is giving his life on the border for strangers almost everyday. As for the balochistan issue you raised i shall post about it later as that is a totally seperate issue.

    • I welcome your views regarding the accountability of the Military but I strongly differ when you state that they must not be held accountable now, I feel it is contradictory to your previous stance.

      Majority in Pakistan hold the notion of accountability of the army as an insult to them or as means of demonstrating our contempt/dislike for them.

      It is neither. I admit, we are in a state of war but what better time than the present to begin this imperative accountability when the Army has come under fire from all sides?
      [ Financial irregularities, supporting terrorist organisations etc. ]

      Not only will it elevate their position in the eyes of the people but restore the trust that is withering amongst many for them? It will set a precedent too.

      The puissant in the Army have always been responsible for the mess attributed to the entire institution or other wrongdoings today.
      The soldiers never had anything to do with it all.

      And it is the same powerful heads that have done their best to portray to the people that Pakistan is in danger always, thus making their presence and position ‘untouchable’ and inevitably needed.
      They’ve shown the institution to be the only strong and able political and national force, in a manner that degrades the civilian ones – helping them to evade answering. Always.

      Lastly, thank you very much reading and the feedback!

  5. Its excellent to learn people in Pakistan are learning to speak up their mind; at least there are forums now available where people of the similar thought process can jumble up together to brood upon themselves and what’s happening about their selves.

    Its actually a war inside that challenges conflicts. I am of the opinion shouting is the first sign of pain and it must go on; people must learn to shout; but the problem arises that when you shout you face the similar scenario what is mentioned here by Hafsa; but we must still shout slowly as slow as whispering !!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Athar Sajid

    • Indeed it is heartening to know that people here are, even though slowly and in few numbers, learning to speak up.

      I am in complete agreement with you, thank you for reading and pouring your thoughts into comments!

  6. Hold on, Hold On.

    What if, i say who are Ansar aabasi, Zaid haimd, Ahem qureshi?

    Certainly “mossad agent “reply will be “Mullah, Isi ka agent, Establishment k phitoo, A**es of Establishment”
    It is very simple, if you make joke of other by calling “ghariat birdage, mullah” than you should also be ready to get some titles:)

    Let me give you few more examples….

    • By the ”Mossad Agent” – I deem you mean to signal towards the liberals who have become more or less, demonized in relation to their image here in Pakistan.

      The point is, what if someone doesn’t title/tag anyone else? Does he deserve to be labelled?

  7. 1st, We have to understand, when our desiliberals think that Pakistan involve in Afghanistan via talban and Hiqani, Involve in India via hafiz saeed or LeT, and in america as mr Faii…

    Than its also true that those countries are not child that the sit and see what Pakistani “Agents” are doing in their country and counter them in setting in their own countries…. So to be CIA agenst(like doctor in OBL case) are possible in Pakistan, in is not an impossibility.

    Let simply See the Raymond davis case. Still the end of Case these is no statement form our foreign office that he is a diplomat… But see express tribune blogs, Raza rumi own blog, Sher cowjee column and NFP column….they themselves “announced” that he is a diplomat and start blaming and hitting the “anti-americans” as “gharit brigade” .

    Now, If for a common person, what he should call them when some one openly defend an america CIA agent?

    • They don’t think out of their own imagination Hamza, its what is the truth. The truth, it may not be popular amongst the masses and unable to be swallowed by most but that doesn’t change its nature.

      We as a nation have actually created this mindset that makes us view ourselves as the nucleus of the world with the all of the countries conspiring either to finish us or malign us.

      The Shakeel Afridi case, he is an outright CIA Agent and how do we know that? It was proven.

      The reason of my penning this post was not to deny that many meddle in Pakistani affairs but to highlight the profiling that takes place every now and then on the virtual world when someone speaks up.

      The common person does not label people as agents, the educated ones do. The common person hardly knows of ET or any other English newspaper.

      • What was proved against hafiz saeed? He is free from court, than our desiliberals start writing that courts are bias and from right wing.

        Shakeel afridi is proved as it is mentioned from itnernational media.
        If international media says America use vaccine prog to get Osama`s family than its a “true report”, but if it was written from Pakistani media,we tagged that as “conspiracy theory”

        Btw, Raymond davis was proved as CIA agent from international media, but still these desi liberals proved hard to prove him as diplomat and tags other as “ghariat birdage”!

  8. Well done Hafsa, once again. I can feel your words striking hard as I was going through them. Yes, I am a Kafir, I am a Mossad agent, I am a renegade, and that does mean that I stood up for something. Down with hypocrisy, caste-ism, fascism, mullah-ism and so forth! I need my country back from these retards, and I am ready to face anyone who dares to oppose me!

    Well done Hafsa, for you have the courage to speak on such issues. Proud of you.

    Really loved this
    *I am a MOSSAD Agent who doesn’t recite and repeat the venom-filled and delusional words of a hatemonger like Zaid Hamid.
    I am a RAW Agent trying to constantly ruin the country’s image for I draw attention to the misery of minorities in Pakistan in hope of the people realizing the importance of the well-being and freedoms of those to whom the white of our flag is dedicated.*

    Keep up the good work, and keep fighting for our country! Jeay Pakistan!

    • Thank you so very much for your unstinting encouragement and for these kinds words!

      Quaid-e-Azam was also called once Kafir-e-Azam and if that ‘Kafir’ founded this country, we Kafirs will rebuild it.

  9. At least you’re admitting it. That’s a good start. A lots of quotations from here and there along with cheesy statements, Other than that nothing but same old empty rants. Such article would hold some weight 10 years ago, When you go about claiming to be a victim because you “speak out”, make sure you actually know about so that you may sound credible unlike this despicable article. Educate yourself before blogging. I know people get away with much more naivete on the internet, but as a representative of Pakistan, have some respect for yourself and the country.

    • Seriously Omar, why’d you put yourself through such pain to read such a naive and despicable piece?
      Tsk.

  10. I disagree with the remarks of Mr. Omar, you don’t have to be so called educated to express your pain. Does being representative of a country or a religion absolve it from being commented on when there is blood all over. The writer assumes being born in apart of the world or into some religion makes you a certain stereo type and links it certain mechanical behaviour patterns; remember differences in opinion are colours of life; you don’t have to shed blood on the slightest variance and link it to self or the country’s respect.

  11. Excellent piece, Hafsa! I just stumbled upon your blog via Twitter and found it to be very refreshing and commendable to see a woman — and a Pakistani one at that — speak her mind and have her voice heard on issues that need vehement attention. Please continue to write such powerful, thought-invoking pieces, for it is through intellectual dialogue and debates that we can shed light on the dire issues that Pakistan is currently facing; and in turn hope to bring about some positive changes.

  12. I am nothing short of a dead man though. I feel no love for the state; I cannot say the same about the land.

  13. We Are Kafirs Working Towards The Betterment Of Our Country .. We Are Traitors But We Are Patriots .. We Will Bring The Change Needed . AnyWays , I Find This Post Extremely Based On The Truth And You Have Concluded It On A Beautiful Note . Cheers !

  14. Brilliant, Hafsa! I am delighted to read this post — it is crucial to emphasise the necessity of social reform in order for society to expand, grow and evolve with healthy and “true” mindsets, which you have articulated in your writing. Your blog is an important contribution for it demonstrates evolved expansiveness as it encompasses numerous issues, from the turmoil of the marginalised societies (Sheedis, Hazaras, etc), intellectual supression and alienation caused by the Mullahs, and many socio-political endeavours. In your heart there is fire….keep it alive, Pakistan needs more people like you. May you continue making contribution on your superb blogzine, my friend. Cheers.

  15. “I am a Kafir for I dare to reclaim my religion from the Mullahs. I am a disbeliever for I admire Abdus Salam and Sir Zafarullah Khan and have the audacity to express my rightful desire for them to be honored by all. I am worthy of being consigned to hell because I do not judge and determine who is a Muslim, to what extent and who isn’t.”

    very well said, :)

  16. Wish if this country could have even a 100 people like Hafsa, the fate of this country, will be changed within no time…the only problem with we Pakistanis is that we have no guts to speak for oursleves. We are blessed with everything and the only thing which we need is ‘some courage’…anyway, keep rocking Hafsa, am sure the day is not far when we will be the winner!

  17. i think im falling in love with you……u wrote something that really got to me ;p


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,924 other followers

