”Let The Change Stem From Within”


“62 years ago,
By Jinnah, this land was on us bestowed,
Unity, Faith and Discipline its foundation,
Walking on thorny roads through the scorching heat of struggle and hardships,
Migrated the Muslims to this land for their future generations with great expectations..

Brimmed their eyes with hopes of parity, justice, tolerance and egalitarianism,
Desired they a land, replete with peace and devoid of religious sectarianism,
But soon, their dreams of prosperity shattered,
And at the hands of dictatorship, their fate battered,
Sybarites ate out of my soil’s flesh,
Every time, they escaped their time to be threshed,
Often unfurled the flags of democracy,
Banished were great leaders and of democracy was made a mockery,
To be the peoples’ saviour, many claimed,
Yet, each forgoed Jinnah’s dream and Iqbal’s vision,
And to the name of Pakistan, they brought shame,
On the fair face of Pakistan,
Thrown were blotches of injustice, corruption and brutality,
Raped was my country’s dignity and sovereignity….

Bleeds now my soil and in the sea of conflicts and problems, it drowns,
Infected is my homeland by terrorism’s cancer,
With a former dictator’s incisions,
My land is scarred and has many divisions…

Yet, not far off my eyes detect hope’s glimmer,.
In my heart, the light of love for my country does not get any dimmer,
Burns my soul with my country’s situation,
With my patriotism’s guidance,
And Mohammad (PBUH) as my source of motivation,
The evils of our society I shall uproot,
For the Pakistan, Jinnah and Iqbal envisioned,
And for the dawn of parity, liberality, altruism and progress,
I will contribute
I vow to serve my beloved land and make a change
By making it stem from within…”

 

Hafsa Khawaja

2 comments on “”Let The Change Stem From Within”

  1. Abhinav says:

    i appreciate your feelings by heart.but one thing is always puzzling me.in kashmir kashmiri pandits are also there.kashmir is their home town where will they go if muslims want freedom.my advice is that every person whether hindu or muslim should live together without any feeling of discrimination.and one more thing pakistan is not a country of terrorist:)plz reply

    • I agree with you completely, I believe that Kashmir belongs to Kashmiris – be anyone of them Muslim, Hindu, Christian or Sikh.
      There shouldn’t be this fear that if they achieve freedom – which is their birthright – radical Muslim dominance will prevail as Kashmir is where people of all religions have been living in harmony, without any discrimination.

      Even Kashmiri leaders have always stated this and never talked of Azadi on the basis of shunning minority groups but rather how important they are to the Valley.

      Thank you for reading, commenting and your thoughts on Pakistan!
      They mean much! 🙂

Leave a Reply

